Skip to content

Off Days

by on March 27, 2013

While I’m laid up in a cast, I’ve been forced to take time off from serious exercise. It’s incredibly frustrating, because it took a long time for me to develop a habit and a desire to work out regularly. I know I need to heal before getting back on my feet, but I don’t like sitting here.

On the other hand, there are those who push themselves to an unhealthy extreme, risking injury in order to knock out multiple exercise sessions per day. That’s no good either.

This reminds me of some thoughts I had a while back about days off from working out. I originally posted them six months ago, right when I was reaching the best shape I’ve been in for quite some time.

Take a look, see if you agree that sometimes planning an off day can prevent us from having some very off days.

I’d also love to hear from you. What do you do to maintain balance with your workout regimen?

From → Take a Breather

2 Comments
  1. I definitely think taking a day off is a good thing/necessity! You can even use a day off as a “light” recovery such as doing yoga! I am injured right now, so I totally feel your pain!

    • I find it’s true of a lot of things beyond fitness. You can’t grind at something day in, day out, without changing the routine every now and then. I have not tried yoga, but from what I understand, your suggestion is spot on.
      Sorry to hear of your injury, but thank you for the sympathy. 😀 Best wishes to you for your recovery as well.

Leave a Reply

