Skip to content

Yes You Can

by on March 30, 2013

One of the best sources of pleasure for me – as far as fitness is concerned – is when I prove to myself that I can do something that I or others thought I could not.

When my neighbor sees me hopping around and tells me I’m crazy for going for a “walk” on crutches…

When I set a challenging speed goal on the rowing machine, something I can’t do yet, and then eventually meet it a month later…

When my body wants to give up and call it a day, and I demand another half hour of intense cardio…

When I buckle down on diet and exercise, and score an “Excellent” on my Air Force fitness test for the first time…

I’m sure you get the idea. When we find ourselves at the start of a difficult task or journey, it’s so easy to focus on the obstacle and miss the opportunity, to come up with excuses instead of effort. We have to stand up to that.

I had some thoughts on this several months ago as I was working toward new fitness goals. I found that this same principle applies to my whole life, not just to exercise. Take a look and be encouraged, as I was, by the reminder that yes, you can do it.

And please comment, too. What are some of the best achievements you’ve accomplished, the ones you or others were convinced you’d never reach? Your success story might be the encouragement I or others need.

Thanks for reading!

From → Get Moving

6 Comments
  1. This month will be the epitome of a challenge for me! First, the A-to-Z, then a fitness challenge I’m doing with friends (abs and triceps), a writer’s conference I’m staff on, a new director position and the work that entails, a couple writing events I’m working at, so on and so forth. In May, I hope to be able to say I did it all, and I did it well.

    Good luck with your challenges, and with the A-to-Z!

    Shannon at The Warrior Muse

    • Thank you! April looks to be an obstacle course of challenges for me, but they’re all good and necessary challenges!

  2. Just stopping by from the a-z blog challenge. Your blog is very inspirational, as long as you keep that ‘I can do it’ attitude, you most certainly will.

    Have fun with the challenge.

  3. Hello, I came here from the blog challenge participants list. I like your blog though I am not at all keen on rowing machines! The thing I am quite proud of is being able to run despite being so dyspraxic that I kick bruises onto my own ankles with every run I do.

    • Ouch! That sounds painful. Great job pushing past the pain or working around it, but I cringe at the thought of bruising yourself in order to work out. My personal philosophy is, muscle pain good, joint pain bad. But I know lots of people hate spending a long time on a cardio machine.

Leave a Reply

