Skip to content

In a Row

by on April 22, 2013

Still catching up from the lazy weekend. I hope to get S and T tomorrow, thereby getting back on track.

As I continue on with the A to Z Blog challenge, I’ve been really frustrated by the recovery process. It takes time to get back on my foot after surgery, and right now, returning to normal is so terribly close, like the approaching finish line in sight after a long run.

Not there yet, but I will be soon.

One of the activities I’m both scared and excited to return to is the rowing machine. When I was working out with friends and pushing myself to my best state of fitness ever, I spent a lot of time on the rowing machine. A lot of my friends are CrossFit fans, or similar workout fanatics. Rowing 5K in the middle of a circuit was standard fare.

And, like it or not, I couldn’t argue with the results. It was hard work, but it paid off.

When I started out, a friend encouraged me to try a 5K on the machine and see how well I did. I ended up being just under 22 minutes, if memory serves. Nothing fantastic, but for a fat guy it was pretty good.

Good enough that I thought I could do better. If 22 minutes was attainable while I was trying to get in shape, then 20 minutes might be a challenging but reasonable goal. So that got added to my fitness to-do list.

I was dieting, doing circuits with my crazy friends, and doing about an hour of cardio after that, three times a week or so. Pushing hard on the rowing machine always brings me to a point where I’m worried I’ll throw up, but I managed to keep it under control. And slowly, I saw my times go down toward that 20 minute mark.

I finally pulled it off, with a 19:41 time, if memory serves. Then I got lazy for a while, and then I had surgery.

So now it’s back up on the to-do list, along with other goals to get me back to where I was before. I know it’s going to take time, but I also know I can do it.

That was one of my most recent personal records. What’s a record you’re working toward? Or what’s a goal you found challenging, and how did you feel when you overcame it? Let me know in a comment.

From → Get Moving

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

