Skip to content

Quick Time

by on April 22, 2013

Quick Time

Catching back up to the A to Z blog challenge… I took too much time over the weekend and failed to get Q and R posted. It’s amazing how fast stuff piles up.

If I don’t make the time for writing, I find I won’t get much done. It’s intentional, a choice, a setting of priorities that I must then carry out.

Otherwise I find myself scrambling to keep up, or looking back on missed opportunities.

Sometimes when we look at our goals and responsibilities, it’s overwhelming. There’s so much to do, or everything takes so long, we question why we should even get started.

Maybe tomorrow, we might say. Tomorrow, I’ll have more time.

One of the old saws about fitness is that there’s a certain amount of time we have to do any cardio exercise before it really does us any good. After 20 minutes of exercise on average, we start burning into stored fuel (the dreaded fat) and gain the benefits of the exercise. So, really, we should plan for 30 minutes or more, or else what’s the point?

So goes the logic, and thus many workouts have fallen to the lure of “tomorrow.” Because today I don’t have 30 minutes to spend. I have other commitments. I have responsibilities tugging at me. I missed my gym time… or maybe I showed up so late that it just doesn’t matter and I should go home. Try again tomorrow.

Well, good news. If you haven’t heard, recent studies are showing that the 30 minutes of exercise does not have to be completed all at once. We can break it up into several pieces throughout the day. If we can add some activity to our routines and build up 30 minutes of total exercise throughout the day, we’ve earned the same benefits as the person at the gym on a treadmill for half an hour straight.

I don’t know about you but that gives me hope. Those “little” things add up. I can hustle up a couple flights of stairs instead of taking the elevator. I can walk down flights of stairs any day, because gravity’s doing the work and the two or three minutes shouldn’t affect the rest of my day. Maybe when my co-workers grab a smoke break, I can walk up and down the stairs two more times, or knock out a set of push-ups. Perhaps I can intentionally park across the lot from the store, then set a brisk pace to my destination. Or I can take ten minutes after the workday or when I get home to take a walk.

If we make enough of these choices, we don’t have to feel guilty about missing an aerobics class or run. And if we can still get to the gym or do the workout, we’re that much further ahead.

Quick bursts of activity help support the overall lifestyle we desire. It doesn’t take much, just a commitment that won’t get pushed off to ‘tomorrow.’

Do you agree, or disagree? Have any suggestions on good ways to incorporate short activities into your day? Please share with me in a comment and let me know.

From → Get Moving

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

