Skip to content

Undone

by on April 25, 2013

So I enjoyed my first day back to the gym, and while I’m excited about that, I am also challenged. I saw first hand how much of what I had achieved before has been undone by time spent off my foot during recovery.

Thankfully, I haven’t gained much weight during my down time… Maybe four or five pounds in two months of relative inactivity. The problem is, I gained about 15 pounds in the months leading up to surgery, because I stopped paying close attention to my weight and diet.

Not surprising then, that my heart rate races up a little too easy, my breath gets short and choppy much faster, my muscles can’t push at the same resistance and speed that they used to. I can’t walk at the pace I am used to, and it pricks my pride a bit to look at my distance walked compared to duration.

I haven’t gotten on the rowing machine yet – too much stress on my foot – but I imagine I will see a similar decline in performance.

It doesn’t take much to undo a lot of hard work over a long time. If all the motivational quotes and the knowledge about the benefits of exercise and the great feeling of a workout well done aren’t enough to motivate you to get out and get at it, then consider my situation.

No one wants to work to catch up to where they were before. But like paying off a debt, the faster you get started, the sooner you’re caught back up. The longer we wait, the worse it gets.

Don’t let the tyranny of the day-to-day slide you back to square one in your pursuit of fitness. It’s no fun coming undone.

(The silver lining? Now I know how far I slipped, it wasn’t as bad as it could have been, and I’m already on the way back to my previous best. So not all is lost.)

From → Take a Breather

2 Comments
  1. K.Jacqleene permalink

    Thanks for the encouragement. I needed this today.

Leave a Reply

