Skip to content

Just a Little Rest

by on June 21, 2013

Last weekend, I felt tired and decided to “take it easy.”

That small concession has come back to bite me in a big way.

After a few hiccups, my Nike+ Fuelband is finally working and accurately tracking all my efforts. I got up to an 18 day streak of hitting my activity goal with the device. Now, for full disclosure, the activity goal I set is pretty average, nothing special, so it’s not really a point of pride to say “Look, I got off my butt and walked around a bit today.” But I am recovering from foot surgery and going to physical therapy to get back strength and stability in that leg. So I’ll hang onto my excuse for a while and keep my unimpressive daily goal.

Anyway, Saturday morning was spent being lazy. “I’ll do a little something this afternoon maybe, go outside with the kids, or get on the XBox fitness games for a bit. No big deal.”

I did move around a bit, and I had to run to the store, so I was making good progress.

Then morning turned into afternoon which turned into evening, and we had a family movie planned for our daughter’s birthday. “After the movie, I can get a bit of exercise.”

Too bad the movie was longer than I expected. Next thing I knew, it was after midnight. I had my first unmet goal in a long time. 54 days, in fact. (Like I said, there were issues with the tracking and the app, so it thought I only had an 18 day streak.)

54 days.

I’m all for rest days and making sure not to push too hard. But it’s also far too easy (for some of us, or at least for me) to let that rest take a little longer, then a little more time, then maybe another day, until good habits like streaks are broken.

33 “A little sleep, a little slumber,
A little folding of the hands to rest,”
34 Then your poverty will come as a robber
And your want like an armed man.  Proverbs 24:33-34 NASB

From → Get Moving

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

