Skip to content

My Canary

by on July 3, 2013

There’s an old concept of miners keeping a canary with them while they work in tunnels deep below the earth. The canary was susceptible to toxic gases and would pass out before a human would be affected. That was the miners’ warning to evacuate.

I walk up these stairs every day. As my foot gets better, I’ll be back to jogging up the stairs.

They’re my fitness canary. When I get to the top and find myself out of breath or tired, I know I’ve slipped a bit too far into lazy mode.

People who exercise all the time without fail probably don’t need a fitness canary. But for those of us who aren’t always in the gym, it’s a good idea to figure one out.

Maybe it’s a particular weight. Maybe it’s a jiggly stomach. Maybe it’s feeling out of shape when you take the stairs.

Don’t let it be doctor’s orders, or a hear attack, or some other health condition.

An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure… Working off a pound or two now is better than a dozen or two later.

20130703-092833.jpg

From → Get Moving

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

