Skip to content

Where’s My Robot Body!

by on August 2, 2013

Seriously, sci-fi books and movies, you’ve been stringing me along all this time with the promise of immortality. Where’s my artificial robot body so that my consciousness can be downloaded into a permanent, easily-maintained shell??

Because this exercise stuff is HARD.

I think I am about done with Physical Therapy. My post-surgery foot sometimes gets a little throb or an ache to remind me it’s there, but it is far better than before. My left foot actually feels way worse now, probably because the right foot feels so good.

Even so, recovery is hard work! I tried jogging a bit, a few short bursts between a tenth and a quarter mile, to see how it felt. My 1-mile time while mixing in some jogging is still slightly slower than it was while only walking last year before surgery. So… still lots of room to grow.

I get it, if being fit was easy, everyone would do it. And since it’s not THAT hard, a lot of people are doing it.

But even before I got my foot screwed up (haha, pun) I don’t think I could do some of the crazy stuff I try to do at Physical Therapy.

Try wrapping some thera-band or stretch band around a table leg, then wrap it around a foot. Stand on the other foot, then kick the wrapped foot behind you, or to the side, or in front of you, while maintaining balance. Too easy?

Then stand on one foot, with a light weighted ball in your two hands extended in front of you. Bend at the waist so that your arms go straight down parallel to your standing leg, and your other leg makes a 90 degree angle with your standing leg. Ten of those should inform you about your balance (or lack thereof).

Maybe that’s easy too. So get a trampoline, set it against a wall at an angle, and stand a few feet away. Toss the weighted ball at it while standing on one foot, stiffen your arms, and catch the ball while maintaining balance. Do it on a pillow or foam pad if the normal version is cake. You can even incorporate twists… start at 45 degrees to the trampoline, then face front, throw, catch the bounce, and twist back to center, aimed 45 degrees off centerline, all on that one foot.

Loads of fun.

But progress is being made. And progress takes time.

Someday, I can get my robot body. But for now, I’ll have to try to make this one work.

From → Get Moving

5 Comments
  1. My left foot and knee ached more after completing my physical therapy, so I switched to stem cell treatment with my ortho surgeon, Dr Purita, and it worked for me… I was able to get back to running 4 months after I had my last therapy session..

  2. You do have a superb website. Some very nice advice here.

  3. What luck! “Trampoline exercise” commented something quite similar today. I hope your sister enjoys what she finds out about these kinds of things.

Leave a Reply

