Skip to content

Today’s 1K

by on August 15, 2013

No, this isn’t a running or rowing post, and I’m not talking about a kilometer.

We had some mandatory fun today at our squadron, and part of that included scheduled workout time. I hopped on the elliptical for 45 minutes. To make the most of the time, I put the resistance fairly high and kept my speed up, then mixed in variety using some concepts from Spin class (changing resistance like rolling hills, steep climbs, sprints, isolations, and so on).

At about 40 minutes I realized I could probably crack 1,000 calories guesstimated on the machine before I ran out of time. Bulls on Parade came on, and I turned up the speed and resistance. I had to step it up a couple notches in that five minutes, but managed to hit 1K at 44:57. Pretty sure that’s a personal best.

All that on only a Special K Strawberry granola bar today (90 cal).

On top of that, I checked my weight (and cringed). Though I have not lost any weight since last week, I am still happy. Even with cheat days and lazy not-really-working-out days, I have not gained any weight. Now I can eat burgers at the squadron picnic and feel no shame!

Now I am not out to make it “Facebook official” or show off or brag.

I’m just happy I hit a goal that I’m pretty sure I’ve only hit once before, if ever.

What’s one of your personal best challenging workouts or goals achieved?

From → Get Moving

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

