Skip to content

Silver Linings

by on December 19, 2013

This week I am reminded that what’s “good for me” may not always be what’s “best for me.” And what’s easy or convenient is rarely helpful for my health.

20131219-145031.jpg

Last week, I got screwed. Seriously. They put two screws through my left heel bone and into the bone above that. Sub-talar fusion, it’s called. The idea is to make two bones in a joint grow into one solid mass of bone that won’t move – thus mitigating pain and joint problems.

The downside (other than pain) is about six weeks of non-weight-bearing status on the left foot.

A friend lent me a knee scooter that her husband used after surgery earlier in the year, and at first it was great. I could wind my way through obstacles and zip down the aisles of the grocery store. It made getting out and about incredibly easy and even fun.

Then the handlebar started turning independent of the wheels. Something broke free or loosened up in the frame, and despite several attempts, we could not get the handlebar and wheel alignment to remain straight.

So when I hit a bump or need to turn, it’s dicey.

At first, I was annoyed. My new-found fun and freedom vanished in an instant.

Then I remembered feeling out of shape and out of breath every time I hop on one foot or crawl up the stairs. (I know, that’s an experience that might be kind of specific to me and my situation.)

Bed rest and lazing about have not been conducive to any sort of fitness.

After a full day of crutching around, my arms and shoulders are sore. My right foot and right leg want rest. But my energy level is up, and I don’t feel beat just getting around the house.

Like all that advice about parking further away and taking the stairs, sometimes the small changes in our lives are enough to make a positive impact.

I may be de-feeted, but I’m not defeated.

Ever had a change or an unexpected problem that turned into a positive experience? I’d love to hear about it. Let me know in a comment.

From → Take a Breather

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

